2017 Avian Practitioner of the Year

Dr. Michael Lierz named

2017 T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner of the Year

Lierz w falcon

When nominations closed for the 2017 T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner of the Year, a list of 26 outstanding avian veterinarians were submitted for consideration. The independent Selection Committee, hosted through Louisiana State University, narrowed the list to five finalists and the Award recipient, Dr. Michael Lierz, was announced during the Opening Session at the 2017 Annual Conference of the Association of Avian Veterinarians .

Michael Lierz, DZooMed, DECZM (WPH), DECPVS is a Full Professor and Director of the Klinik für Vögel, Reptilien, Amphibien und Fische (Clinic for Birds, Reptiles, Amphibians and Fish) at the Justus-Liebig University of Giessen [MORE].

Lierz w hyacinths

Award recipients

Visit Lafeber.com for a list of previous Award recipients.


Did You Know…?

Caring Hands awardThe T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner of the Year is nominated by their peers: YOU.

  • The Awardee is NOT, and has never been, selected by Lafeber Company.

This autonomous committee, consisting of Association of Avian Veterinarians members, is led by Dr. Tom Tully, Professor and Chief of the Zoological Medicine Service at Louisiana State University School of Veterinary Medicine.

A Lafeber Company Veterinary Consultant, who does NOT vote on the Award recipient, manages committee paperwork and scheduling only.