2019 Avian Practitioner of the Year

Dr. Lorenzo Crosta named Avian Practitioner of the Year


Eighteen exceptional avian veterinarians from all around the world were nominated for the 2019 T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner of the Year. The independent Selection Committee narrowed this list to five finalists and the Award recipient, Dr. Lorenzo Crosta, was announced during the Plenary Session at the 2019 ExoticsCon.


Lorenzo w spixii


Lorenzo Crosta, med vet, PhD, GP Cert (Exotic Animal), DECZM, EBVS European Veterinary Specialist in Zoo Health Management is an Associate Professor of Avian and Zoological Medicine at the University of Sydney School of Veterinary Science, Australia.


Learn More


Lorenzo w pelican

Share the news

Download and share the press release.

Download a PDF


Award recipients

Visit Lafeber.com to learn more about Dr. Crosta and for a list of previous Award recipients.

Caring habds award

Did you know…?

The T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner of the Year is nominated by their peers: YOU. The Awardee is NOT, and has never been, selected by Lafeber Company.

This autonomous committee, consisting of Association of Avian Veterinarians members, is led by Dr. Kenneth Welle, Professor and Chief of the Zoological Medicine Service at the University of Illinois School of Veterinary Medicine. A Lafeber Company Veterinary Consultant, who does NOT vote on the Award recipient, manages committee paperwork and scheduling only.