Guinea Pig Breeds

Guinea Pig Breeds

Eleven guinea pig breeds are recognized by the American Cavy Breeders Association:

1. Abyssinian7.  Peruvian Satin
2. Abyssinian Satin8.  Silkie
3. American9.  Silkie Satin
4. American Satin10.  Teddy
5. Coronet11.  Teddy Satin
6. Peruvian

Abyssinian breed

Abyssinians possess whorled or rough hair.

Peruvian breed

Peruvians have long, silky hair.

American breed

American or English pigs have short, smooth coats.