Parrot Anatomy Basics

Parrots are primarily arboreal, diurnal birds found in tropical and subtropical regions of the world. Parrots belong to Order Psittaciformes and are divided into three families. There are over 350 species of psittacine birds or parrots. If you are comfortable with the basic principles of avian anatomy and physiology, then you are well on your way to understanding psittacine birds. LafeberVet has listed 16 interesting facts about parrot anatomy and physiology that may serve you well during physical examination, clinical care, and/or necropsy. This post also brief describes the Quaker or monk parrot as well as unique features of the kākāpō.

Article  Information sheet 

Basic Information Sheet: Pionus

The birds of genus Pionus are native to regions of Mexico, Central America, and/or South America. Pionus parrots are often described as “small Amazon parrots” because of their stocky builds and often short, square tails. This information sheet reviews natural history, taxonomy, and conservation status, as well as physical descriptions, husbandry needs, behavior, including the Pionus “snarfle or snuffle”, normal physiologic data and anatomy, restraint, and important medical conditions.


Physical Examination of the Chick

Pediatrics is one of the most fascinating and rewarding fields of avian medicine. The key to hand raising healthy psittacine chicks is a strong preventive medicine program based on sound husbandry practices. Physical examination is an important part of preventive health care.


Normal Body Weights in Birds

“Normal Body Weights in Birds” is a collection of normal reported weights in common companion birds and birds of prey presented in table format. Keep in mind that reported normal body weights for a given species can vary significantly…