2015 Avian Practitioner of the Year

Dr. Patrick Redig named 2015 T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner of the Year

Redig w falcon labeled


Nominations closed on June 7th for the 2015 T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner of the Year. Including duplicates, 59 nominations were submitted creating a list of 34 outstanding avian veterinarians. The independent Selection Committee, hosted through Louisiana State University, narrowed the list to five finalists in late June and the Award recipient, Dr. Patrick Redig, was announced during the Opening Session of ExoticsCon 2015 on Monday, August 31.

Redig at ExoticsCon 2015

Dr. Redig is a Professor at the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine as well as Founder and Director Emeritus of The Raptor Center. [MORE]


Visit Lafeber.com for information on previous Award recipients.


Did You Know…?

Caring Hands award

The T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner of the Year is nominated by their peers:  YOU

  • The Awardee is NOT, and has never been, selected by Lafeber Company
  • This autonomous committee, consisting of Association of Avian Veterinarians members, is led by Dr. Tom Tully, Professor and Chief of the Zoological Medicine Service at Louisiana State University School of Veterinary Medicine
  • A Lafeber Company Veterinary Consultant, who does NOT vote on the Award recipient, manages committee paperwork and scheduling only